.

Question Of The Day: Best Part of The Parade

What did you love most about the Memorial Day Parade?

Monday drew crowds who turned out for the Memorial Day Parade and service.

Residents – young and old alike – lined Port Washington Boulevard and Main Street, applauding local veterans in the parade. There was live music, including from the , and other participating community groups showing support, including volunteers from St. Francis Hospital, scout troops, and more.

Many continued on to the where there was a moving service commemorating the fallen.

Which leads to the question: what's the best part of the parade? 

Mike R May 29, 2012 at 12:53 PM
The VFW did a great job as usual. I like that we had organizations in town like the Sons of Italy who always look top notch! Port should feel honored to have them. Thanks to the wonderful men and woman.
Dave Franklin May 29, 2012 at 01:36 PM
It is an honor to be asked to march in a parade to honor our Veteran's who sacrificed their lives to protect our freedom, as well as honoring those who fought and survived. We can never repay these brave men and women who fought to preserve our way of life. Thank you for all you do, have done and continue to do.
Dave Franklin May 29, 2012 at 01:37 PM
Veterans...sorry for the gramatical error.
Gordon P. May 29, 2012 at 01:54 PM
The VFW did a great job. The guys in Green tee-shirts (Ancient Order of Hibernian s) Were giving out Town Maps and keeping the sidewalks clear--Do you know if there are any more maps ?
Dave Franklin May 29, 2012 at 07:29 PM
I checked with the AOH Gordon. They're all gone. It seems they were a hot item. Sorry.
SAMN May 30, 2012 at 01:48 AM
WAS IT A MEMORIAL DAY PARADE or PRIDE IN PORT ? I'm 3rd generation in Port Washington (aka: a clam digger). The Memorial Day parade was somewhat of a disgrace to ALL THE VETERANS WHO LOST THEIR LIVES AND THOSE WHO ARE FIGHTING FOR OUR COUNTRIES FREEDOM. Most of the parade marchers where well dressed & in uniform. (The way it should be). I was outraged. To all the other marchers who were unidentified, and marched as it was a free for all. This is not the PRIDE IN PORT PARADE.. some of the marchers did not even have the RESPECT TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE VETERANS WHO WERE DOWN ON LOWER MAIN ST. What is happening here everyone????? GET A CLUE PEOPLE! I am not the only one who feels this way. So to all who feel like I do. Please VOICE YOUR OPINION. GOD BLESS OUR VETERANS SAMN
Dina Scobbo May 30, 2012 at 04:23 AM
I agree with you SAMN. Please tell me why there were sports teams, strollers, dogs, and other organizations/groups marching in the MEMORIAL DAY Parade. Instead, they should be watching the parade and applauding and saying THANK YOU to our VETERANS. Soon their will be no one watching the Parade, they will all be marching in it. It appears this Town is loosing the true meaning of Memorial Day. .... Dina Scobbo
Semper Fi May 30, 2012 at 07:13 PM
SAMN, Loss of life, for ones country or otherwise, is a very subjective personal thing. You don't have to be 3rd generation anywhere to own feelings of loss and pride. We all appreciated, especially those who served, seeing various organizations like the Sons of Italy and Hibernian's helping make the day special. Re:The Sports team Everyone who came out LOVED the kids walking and taking a day to remember via active participation. Why not stay home or go dig some clams next year---You are too uptight. This is very similar to a PRIDE IN PORT PARADE..as it should be ! GOD BLESS OUR VETERANS
Semper Fi May 30, 2012 at 07:44 PM
Samn and others like him feel that Port Veterans fought for the cryptic ideals of Port resident Clam Diggers. A strange psychology of entitlement. As soon as people move here and pay taxes, they are your neighbors. If they are not like you, well at least they all share American ideals. Vets fought for freedom. For pee-wee baseball teams, Stroller Dads, Happy dogs, all across the country. The Port Washington Vets are probably from somewhere else and if not, they certainly did not only fight for local residents here. I might be born here but I do not ever make the mistake of making others feel less included-Nepotism is cancer to the very fabric of freedom. Shame on you.
SAM May 30, 2012 at 10:22 PM
Semp Fi. who ever you are, You are blowing this out of control. I was just stating that the MEMORIAL Day Parade should be kept as RESPECTING OUR VETS. Some of the marchers did not even acknowledge the the Vet on lower main str. If you are a new comer to Port you and all others are always welcome. Just for you info. I am speaking for some of the spectators that were at the parade. Don't be rude to tell me to say home or dig for clams next year. Get a LIFE. You using the word SEMP FI should understand my point
SAM May 30, 2012 at 10:25 PM
The ceremony at the band shell was the true meaning ot the day.
Dina Scobbo May 31, 2012 at 04:05 AM
The Memorial Day Parade is to honor our Veterans, to say Thank You for the Freedom we have and enjoy. The Pride In Port Parade is for our Commmunity, the Schools, sports teams, organizations/groups. They are two very different Parades. One having more of an emotionmal symbolism (Memorial Day) than the other Parade. And Mr. Semper Fi, as far as " happy dogs" go, I was on the upper part of Main St. when one of those so called "happy dogs" was not so happy and scared the heck of 3 small children.. Isn't it strange, the Fire Dept. use to blow their sirens throughout the course of the Memorial Day Parade and they were told to stop because it scared the children. But yet it's o.k to have those "happy dogs" scare children... And as far as the sports teams, I have nothing against them. If they want to show their "active participation" to our Veterans, then marching in the Memorial Day Parade does not cut it... How many of those kids stayed around to listen and watch the ceremony at the Band Shell when the Parade ended????? "Active participation" is more than one day a year to Honor our Vets...... Dina Scobbo
Semper Fi May 31, 2012 at 09:55 AM
Samn, You show signs of emotional stress. Port's hard working patriotic residents can finally rest now that Samn has welcomed you to his town. Do you even live here? I do agree with your point as to why other groups in town were not "Invited" to Join parade ? Who invited the non-veteran organizations (Sons of Italy / PAL-kids parents, strollers) to march ? The prospective marchers were certainly contacted in advance, therefore many members of our community were not included. - Classic Nepotism is the reason why people will not come to future parades to honor men/ women who made the ultimate sacrifice. I think you are 100% correct that his was handled poorly Sam. I think we all should find out who is the connection between baseball teams Sons of Italy and the Veterans ? Who is this person(s)? Other community groups SHOULD demand to know. Please reply if you know.
Semper Fi May 31, 2012 at 10:04 AM
I had a front row seat. Mr George did a great job, Chalker was brilliant yet again.
Dave Franklin May 31, 2012 at 10:09 AM
John Chalker is a dedicated police officer and tireless worker for Veterans and their needs.
SAM June 01, 2012 at 02:01 AM
Semper Fi. My so called emotional stress, as you call it. This country is in a really bad way. Starting with the so called president. You are not understanding my point. Everyone's welcome to march in the parade. JUST show a little respect to the veterans. Marching for some of the groups, looked like a free for all. As far as the John Michael Marino Lodge (Sons of Italy) they where up there with the PW Police & Fire Dept. The S.O.I. stopped and sang "GOD BLESS AMERICA" in respect to our Vets. I make it a point to stay for the ceremony at the Band Shell every year. And yes I grew up here & live in Port Washington. What about you???
SAM June 01, 2012 at 02:03 AM
AFTER ALL IS SAID AND DONE! GOD BLESS THE U. S. A.
John Chalker June 06, 2012 at 07:52 AM
Schools used to teach kids how to march years ago. I guess a large amount of teachers were veterans and knew how to properly march. Respect for the flag and other "flag etiquette" was drilled into us back then. Alas, we're in a "new world" now. How sad.
John Chalker June 06, 2012 at 08:05 AM
Dear Gyrene, "everyone" is not welcome in this parade. There is a parade comittee that reviews groups wanting to march. The Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 1819 and The American Legion Post 509 sponsor the parade. Someone reported that a woman's rights group had insinuated themselves into our line of march without any license or privelege to be there. All they had to do was ask permission.Whilst not a total slap in our face...the parade is not a free-for-all. Kids are in this parade and watching it so it makes sense for the comittee to screen out aberrant or bizarre groups whose presence would pollute the spirit of this parade.
John Chalker June 06, 2012 at 08:13 AM
Thanks for the compliment ! Garryowen !
John Chalker June 06, 2012 at 08:31 AM
Thanks Mike !!
John Chalker June 06, 2012 at 08:31 AM
Thanks Dave !!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »