.

What is happening to Port Blvd?

What in G-d's name is happening to Port Boulevard??? These GIANT sequoia-sized monstrosities are sprouting each day! Did I miss something? Have aliens attacked? Is this part of the uglification of our beautiful town? Why is it that the entire state of Florida can bury ALL of its utility lines? This is a disgrace and will be a visual blight for decades to come.
NH Runner March 02, 2014 at 04:49 PM
we have lots of electric cables that run under the sea, so your fear of salt water problems is overstated.
NH Runner March 02, 2014 at 04:58 PM
Arguendo - i may be wrong, but i doubt our elected officials were included in the planning process. if you have knowledge to the contrary, let the public know. otherwise, the point is that we have elected officials who oversee permitting and contruction in our town. you can't block traffic and build whatever you want wherever you want whenever you want. a stop work order should have issued immediately on this project. i've not heard a word from any tonh elected official about this project. the fact is that it is almost impossible to undo something once it is done. the time to act is now.
Mary Snyder March 03, 2014 at 09:56 AM
See link for more information about the PSEG Overhead Transmission Work http://www.northhempstead.com/filestorage/7350/7121/7229/7271/Port_Washington_to_Great_Neck_Overhead_Transmission_Project.pdf
sadeto March 03, 2014 at 10:10 AM
Thanks, Mary, very interesting. This is the result of the decommissioning of the Glenwood plant.
hank ratner March 03, 2014 at 01:25 PM
LIPA mailed out a letter(s) to all the local municipalities who were going to have the "poles" erected. This letter went out over ONE YEAR AGO and as they said back during WATERGATE, we have to ask our officials (Kaiman etc.) What Did You Know and When Did You Know It?!
John Meyer March 03, 2014 at 02:07 PM
I contacted Residents for a More Beautiful Port Washington (RFMBPW) a few days ago. Today, they assured me that they are working on it. A Town Meeting with PSEG/LIPA is in the works! Date and time to be announced in the next day or two. As you may have noticed, there is no work occurring today on the utility pole installation. This may be due to residents complaining or may be due to the forecast of another winter storm. Regardless, it is one more day of no work on this project. RFMBPW graciously replied with a number of links to voice your concerns over this. I realize that many people have a multitude of opinions on all of this. I would encourage everyone to: (1) Use your right of free speech to stop this. (Use the links and phone numbers provided by RFMBPW and Mary Snyder, who posted contact info above.) (2) PLEASE, try to keep all of this "above board" and let's all work TOGETHER, towards the common goal of stopping this ridiculous incursion on the main thoroughfare into Port Washington. Please, let's all refrain from blaming, name-calling, etc, and please, everyone just spread the word on who to contact to voice your concerns. I started this thread as a shocked individual resident, who for better or worse, had no idea this was going to happen. I have never had any other reason to speak up in this way. But, as a visual person, I can see what the end result of this installation means to our town. It needs to be stopped. Following are the links that RFMBPW provided to me today. PLEASE spread this to EVERYONE you know in Port Washington! From RFMBPW: We encourage you to reach out to elected officials and let your concerns be heard. Supervisor Judi Bosworth: bosworthj@northhempsteadny.gov Councilwoman De Giorgio: degiorgiod@northhempsteadny.gov State Senator Jack Martins: martins@nysenate.gov State Assemblywoman Michelle Schimel: schimelm@assembly.state.ny.us The Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor of New York State: http://www.governor.ny.gov/contact/GovernorContactForm.php
sadeto March 03, 2014 at 02:11 PM
I'm curious as to why they couldn't do this along the route of the LIRR, where there is an existing transmission line of lower kW. Did the LIRR simply say no? Or was it logistically much more difficult?
Arguendo March 03, 2014 at 02:45 PM
PSEG is working today on the Thomaston/Great Neck end of the link, planting 80 foot poles. The Northern Boulevard routing is a matching 69Kv line that provides diversity from failure of the existing 69kv line that runs in the LIRR ROW, diversity that was previously provided via a 69kv Glenwood Landing link. Face it; Residents were preoccupied with Main Street.
Mary Snyder March 03, 2014 at 03:57 PM
John, Thank you for starting this blog/thread. We owe it to ourselves, our neighbors and to our children to not just sit back and say "oh well, what can I do?" There are approximately 200 wood utility poles that currently stand at 40'-45' tall that will be replaced with 80'-85' tall poles. The existing 13kV overhead distribution wire will be replaced with a new 69kV overhead transmission wire (do the math folks... 5.3 times more!). If you click on the link I shared earlier today, that information is stated - page 5. Also included in the link under the "Customer Communications & Resources" - page 7 *Municipality Mailing (Wonder who received? And when?) *PSEG LI initial notification letter to residents and businesses impacted (Would like to know what was the distance that a resident or business had to be to be included in this notification, and when were they notified?) *Door Hangers to those immediately impacted (How many residences or businesses needed door hangers? Didn't they receive the notification letter?) *Message Boards at Major Intersections (I may have not noticed these due to the shock of seeing 80'-85' poles. *Customer Assistance Center 24hr. Availability 1-800-490-0025 (I have left messages with "Electrical Design & Construction" as well as "Customer Order Fulfillment..." Still waiting for a person to call me back) *Field Superintendent contact information provided on all communications. (And where would the Field Superintendent be found?) Please, if anyone finds out when this "informal meeting" is to be scheduled to meet with PSEG, please post the date and time so people can know to attend if they wish. John, thank you for the suggestions for other elected officials to contact.
hank ratner March 03, 2014 at 07:27 PM
I spoke with a person at PSEG who is in charge of permits, he told me that LIPA sent out letters over a year ago to all municipalities including Town of North Hempstead who would be affected by this "hardening" of the power lines with these IMMENSE 80 footers. As they asked back in Watergate time, we need to ask our elected officials including the supervisor at that time Jon Kaiman...WHAT DID YOU KNOW and WHEN DID YOU KNOW IT?
sadeto March 03, 2014 at 08:13 PM
It would be interesting to know why they were able to bury the first mile of this new line, but not the rest. Or why they felt it was necessary to do so.
Art March 06, 2014 at 03:24 PM
If the poles were a bit longer they could be a deterrent to low flying helicopters.
John Meyer March 10, 2014 at 05:13 PM
Several of us met briefly yesterday at the Port Library. Christine Hogan has done an incredible job creating a website and the online petition. Here is the link to the change.org petition: http://goo.gl/0yYPj9 PLEASE log in and SIGN the petition! The website address is: http://www.keepthenorthshorebeautiful.com/ I have created a handout (a tri-fold brochure-style) with brief info on this disastrous PSE&G project with phone numbers and e-mail addresses for people to write to. I have uploaded the file to Minuteman Press at 437 Port Washington Blvd. Mark Gutner at Minuteman will print the handouts for 50 cents each. I placed an initial order for 100 copies @ $50 bucks. I will be handing these out to commuters at the Port LIRR station. Anyone willing to help can call Minuteman and order copies to hand out, place at the bagel store, put in your neighbors door, etc. Call Mark at Minuteman and say "I want X-number of copies of the STOP THE POLES brochure. Mark Gutner: (516) 944-4449 or e-mail him at: mmpwprint.com
Arguendo March 11, 2014 at 02:47 PM
NY PSC and PSEG report only to the Governor, so it is important to let the Governor know of your distaste for this episode and plan.
John Meyer March 11, 2014 at 04:30 PM
PLEASE do not take any offense to this, but there is a comprehensive site called: http://www.keepthenorthshorebeautiful.com that's been up for a number of days that links to an existing petition with well over 600 signatures, as well as a Facebook page and lots of other links. TOTALLY appreciate your efforts Chuck! Truly, the more the better! The more people who get involved, the better.
John Meyer March 11, 2014 at 05:11 PM
Excellent! Fantastic work!
Tony Patrick March 12, 2014 at 09:14 AM
just noticed them this past weekend. i thought you all were exaggerating as it often is with complaints on patch (ex, airplane noises). but wow, those things are huge and really stick out. i am sure there is a reason for them, but i never seen poles that big in a town, more like along a highway or leading to a major city.
John Meyer March 12, 2014 at 12:25 PM
Getting very close to 1,000 signatures via the petition link at KeepTheNorthShoreBeautiful.com. Where is Residents for a More Beautiful Port Washington on this? They have drafted and sent sent a letter to Cuomo, and they are in touch with PSE&G, but only after a huge grassroots effort emerged outside of RFMBPW. Why is there absolutely NO MENTION of this project at their site, http://pwresidents.org ??? You can not possibly be for a "more beautiful Port Washington" if you are in any way "OK" with this disastrous project that is changing the landscape, for the worse, in Port Washington, each day poles are installed. Once again, where was the Town of North Hempstead? Why were residents not notified? No announcements. No meetings. No signs. Nothing. Judi Bosworth and The Town of North Hempstead were notified back in December. At least there is positive traction at: KeepTheNorthShoreBeautiful.com and the petition drive. Judi Bosworth has now been informed that PSE&G will at least consider burying the lines if funding comes forward. This is due to the pressure of the petition drive, e-mails and phone calls from angry residents. So, if you have not yet voiced your disgust for this project, use the links and phone numbers at: KeepTheNorthShoreBeautiful.com Too bad the impact of this project wasn't debated BEFORE work started. Then, the expense of the pole project could have gone towards burying the lines. Parents: Be proud that your kids are getting involved, sharing this on Facebook, etc. This is a great civics lesson about the First Amendment: The right to free speech, the right to petition the government and the right to peaceful assembly. Use your voice! ACT NOW! Visit: KeepTheNorthShoreBeautiful.com
John Meyer March 12, 2014 at 02:20 PM
Just to repeat, as well: I have created a handout (a tri-fold brochure-style) with brief info on this disastrous PSE&G project with phone numbers and e-mail addresses for people to write to. I have uploaded the file to Minuteman Press at 437 Port Washington Blvd. Mark Gutner at Minuteman will print the handouts for 50 cents each. I placed an initial order for 100 copies @ $50 bucks. I will be handing these out to commuters at the Port LIRR station. Anyone willing to help can call Minuteman and order copies to hand out, place at the bagel store, put in your neighbors door, etc. Call Mark at Minuteman and say "I want X-number of copies of the STOP THE POLES brochure. Mark Gutner: (516) 944-4449 or e-mail him at: mmpwprint.com
PW RES March 12, 2014 at 03:23 PM
Residents for a More Beautiful PW JUST put that up today! I have been checking repeatedly adn it was not there this morning. Get with the program!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Arguendo March 12, 2014 at 03:30 PM
As previously noted, Residents got their quid pro quo early on, but have now been stung by the backlash from the community they claim to represent, which outran them to the right approach, to Andrew Cuomo's desk. When will Ms. Bosworth, Ms. De Giorgio and Mr. Martins get with the program and on the side of the voters they claim to represent?
Sam Germana March 15, 2014 at 12:07 PM
Signed the petition. However, took a walk around town today. The poles are going full steam ahead. These things are BIG. I imagine they will have blinking red lights on top to warn planes landing at LaGuardia? Maybe they will attach those electronic billboards like they have on the NJ Turnpike. That would complete the picture.
Arguendo March 15, 2014 at 01:16 PM
PSEG is now working weekends, paying double-triple overtime, in an attempt to outrun community opposition. They have no intent to mitigate damage.
Arguendo March 15, 2014 at 07:18 PM
No matter the cost or the permanent adverse visual and property value impact on the communities. And those aerial feeders will come down in a real storm, as will the untouched distribution network. Complete waste of money.
Arguendo March 18, 2014 at 09:53 AM
Here's the state of play in East Hampton: http://www.newsday.com/long-island/suffolk/pseg-long-island-east-hampton-residents-must-pay-to-bury-electric-line-1.7416451?qr=1 I wonder whether PSEG will also give credits for fifty years of avoided tree and post-storm aerial restoration work? Yeah, sure they will. This is a disgrace, and it's the Governor, to whom PSEG reports who is aiding and abetting it.
Mary Snyder March 18, 2014 at 10:38 PM
Chuck, thank you for the link. I found it interesting that PSE&G has a service that sends engineers to customers’ homes to measure electromagnetic fields around appliances and power lines. It would be interesting to learn if the new 69kV lines that will be replacing the current 13kV lines, will have any noticeable difference in the electromagnetic field above the residences and schools.....
Mary Snyder March 19, 2014 at 12:19 AM
Chuck, they are "only" 80'-85', and are Douglas Fir. My understanding for the additional height of the utility poles, is so that they tower over trees. When the next big storm hits, toppling trees will not snap the power lines, which is a benefit. What may be compromised in the process, is the trees that got in the way of this project. The remaining trees have been compromised by the tree trimming.
Chuck Idol March 19, 2014 at 03:36 PM
http://portwashington-news.com/website-takes-on-the-poles/
Chuck Idol March 19, 2014 at 03:45 PM
http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1350&dat=19871125&id=_cstAAAAIBAJ&sjid=7AIEAAAAIBAJ&pg=7120,7807156
Archie Bunker March 20, 2014 at 01:36 AM
Who runs this site ? Kim Jong-un of North Korea? All my posts on this topic were deleted

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »