Results of Special District Elections in Port Washington

Germaine and Brackett win re-election.

In a hotly contested election, Mindy Germaine and David Brackett were re-elected as commissioners of the Port Washington Water District. Germaine was elected for a one year term and received 639 votes to challenger Dennis Swiaki's 358 votes. Brackett was elected for a three-year term. He received 642 votes to 280 for the challenger Alan Elton.

Port Washington Police Commissioner Angela Lawlor Mullins won re-election to a second three-year term. There were 763 votes cast; 639 for Mullins, 94 for write-in candidate Reed Markham and 10 for other write-in candidates.

Incumbent Richard Marra ran unopposed for the Port Washington Water Pollution Control District. There were  a  total of 481 votes cast. Marra received 476 votes, and there were three write-ins and two voids.

Mary Giordano won re-election to the Port Washington Garbage District with 486 votes.  There was one write-in ballot in this election.

Elections were held at the Polish American Cultural Association on Tuesday. 

Mindy Germain 639 votes Dennis Swiaki 358 votes David Brackett 642 votes Alan Elton 280 votes

Charley Vogeley December 13, 2012 at 12:07 PM
Marra, not Mara. Richard A. Marra, former proprietor of Hunold Pharmacy, Inc.
Ed Shendell December 14, 2012 at 12:49 AM
Can all the candidates now go around town and remove all of their posters and lawn signs.
Local Resident December 24, 2012 at 04:40 PM
"Mindy Germain...639 votes David Brackett...642 votes Congratulations...way to rally the "Residents" troops. By the way, why does our water taste awful the past two weeks?"


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »