.

Tell Us: Movie Theater

What should the court know about granting approval to green-light this project?

Looks like Port Washington must wait until at least the end of August before a new movie theater can open in Soundview Marketplace.

Because the shopping center is in foreclosure, the New York State Supreme Court must grant approval before the movie theater project can move forward. 

Which leads to the question: what do you want the court to know as it formulates a decision? Is this project important to Port Washington? Tell us why in the comments. 

Rosanna Carta June 27, 2012 at 02:13 PM
YES!! We need that movie theater to open again! Way too crowded of a town to only have one movie theater. I have to prepurchase my tickets online for Port Cinemas because even if I get there 45 minutes before, the tickets are already sold out!!! What the heck!! As far as the shopping center, we need all the stores that are there....bad enough we lost so many great stores that were there!! Something needs to be done! The old Blockbuster/Pergament store has been closed FOREVER!!! What happened to Staples going there way back when?? Very disappointing!!
Jesse Conover June 27, 2012 at 02:19 PM
Local economy improvement. If this new theater opens and it's of a higher quality than the others it will bring in visitors looking for a nite out and spending money in the surrounding businesses.
Old Viking June 27, 2012 at 02:23 PM
to add insult to injury, the summertime is the high seaon for moviegoing. to have the corp. have to wait until august cannot do anything to help this happen.
Lucretia Steele June 27, 2012 at 02:49 PM
The movie theatre would be a key component of the shopping center because it would bring in business from out of the area. People would often come from Manhasett, Roskyn and Great and even Douglaston to go to the previous theatre. I also think the large empty corner store would be a great location for a Staples. If anything this theatre would revitalize the shopping center
Ben June 27, 2012 at 03:27 PM
@ Lucretia Steele - I do not think a Stables store would do well on Shore Road. @ Old Viking King Kullen is not doing well it has too much competion a rumor has been going for a while that when the lease is up King Kullen will not renew the store is not making any money.
Old Viking June 27, 2012 at 03:35 PM
mini best buy staples book store chinese buffet firehouse deli sporting goods miniwalmart minikmart trader joes 5 guys burgers rainforest cafe you name it, it's better than an eternally empty corner storefront
Old Viking June 27, 2012 at 03:36 PM
don't spread rumors
Old Viking June 27, 2012 at 03:37 PM
@ Ben a stables will not do well in the shopping center unless they put in hitching posts and let us ride all over town. cool.
Dawn Andrew June 27, 2012 at 03:49 PM
Wish someone would put a nice bowling alley there. I think there was one years ago where King Kullen resides. Would be great not to have to travel far. Adults and kids would benefit from that business. Just a thought. Perhaps the space is just too small.
Ben June 27, 2012 at 03:55 PM
@ Dawn Andrew - yes that was Bay Bowl it was a great place owned by a guy Joe Fraumeni but then bowling fell out of style and he closed.
Jesse Conover June 27, 2012 at 04:48 PM
Dave and busters!
Kenn June 27, 2012 at 06:45 PM
Get moving on getting the theater back ASAP! Such buffoonery!
Debbie O'Brien June 27, 2012 at 09:50 PM
Legal wrangles...everything in due time. Whatever opens, it will be "build it and they will come." In Port Washington, any business that serves our community will thrive, especially if it has anything to do with kids, food or families.
Ben June 28, 2012 at 01:06 AM
@ Debbie O'Brien - Not hardly no business will thrive unless they have an affordable rent and the rents at the Soundview Marketplace are all too high.
Ben June 28, 2012 at 01:14 AM
@ Kenn - i dont think its going to happen at this point this is all just talk.
jonathan winant June 28, 2012 at 11:19 AM
Concerning a Staples store moving into P. Washington it is not out of the question I have allready e-mailed them and they need to get more readers to do the same. I feel that the site of the old Hollywood Video store would work well for Staples. Ample parking, easy access for deliveries not to mention Stop and Shop is next door. Contact Staples so we do not have to travel all the way in traffic to Manhassett. SPEAK UP PORT WASHINGTON
jonathan winant June 28, 2012 at 11:26 AM
All who posted sugestions of businesses which should try to move to Port Washington should keep in mind that we do not need to duplicate allready exsisting types of businesses. Doing so will force out some businesses that have been here for a very long time and in turn would only create more empty stores. Chinese Restaurants, pizzerias, Liqour stores,Bagel shops, Delis, Nail slons are just a few types of businesses we do not need anymore of
Richard Sussman June 28, 2012 at 03:25 PM
When I move to Port many years ago, we had a topless bar on PW Blvd. I just got here and they left, I heard something about a madam being busted there. Anyway we don't have one in Port anymore................
Ben June 28, 2012 at 03:49 PM
@ Richard Sussman - we had two Topless Bars one where Hickory's is located and another in Flower Hill the Salem Inn now an Auto Parts store both employed women who would dance topless.
Ben June 28, 2012 at 04:13 PM
@ Jonathan Winat - the Staples at Northern Blvd and Shelter Rock Road does not do that well yes it is poorly run - as all Staples stores are poorly run and that may be a good thing because there is never a crowd of people in here. I doubt we need a Staples here.
DS July 03, 2012 at 03:58 PM
What's with these courts these days? Don't they realize that opening the theater would also create jobs? Albeit, not a lot, but still... some. We need that theater. Being a bit physically challanged, as well as my Mom, it's the easiest Theater to get to. The parking it great, it's better equipped for Handicaped people. The theater on Main Street, is so lousy to get to. And the parking, definatly not handicap accessible. Let Staples move into the old Block Buster building and bring back the theater.
jonathan winant July 03, 2012 at 04:15 PM
Movie theater tied up in court battle is what it is but we can do something to convince courts to push things ahead. First is that the more rentals the strip mall gets the more revenue comes in and might help them out financially. second is the trickle down effect of just one more vacant store front in Port Washington. Landlords have to realize that maybe what they expect to get in rent is unrealistic in these times of financial difficulties. Can rent an apartment for what your asking I guess you lower the rent.
Old Viking July 06, 2012 at 11:41 AM
there is constant lip service given to the idea of helping small business by government, as the key to getting the economy back on track and reducing unemployment. and yet right here, we have a case of the courts acting to hurt business for some unknown reason-who else besides the movie theaters on Main Street could possibly not want the new theater to come here?) There are other local cases where very questionable zoning regulations act as ridiculously unnecessary impedents to the succcessful establishment and profitability of new and small businesses, who should not have to struggle to adhere to picayune strictures on the part of an overweening and pervasively controlling entity, not at all in keeping with the founding father's just and far reaching conception of freedom nor the equal right to the pursuit of happiness.
Old Viking July 06, 2012 at 03:00 PM
pw north seems to have just come up with what appears to be a fairly ridiculously plan for a maritime business district zone on what used to be the beautifully manicured lawn in front of the old Thompson bldg which was allowed for far too long to grow decrepit and become an eyesore. the brilliant plan calls for the possibility of a nautical museum, a surefire money maker and tax revenue producer if there ever was one. And just as they crazily labeled the somewhat questionable artwork along the long delayed improved waterfront walk as a nautical museum, there seems to be some interesting stretching of the meaning of the word museum going on. Could this possibly be a semantic ploy seeking government funding? A real nautical museum in Port Washington might be intersting. Based on what has appeared under the name so far, the chances of something real and worthy of public interest coming out of this is i daresay virtually nill. why not open it up zoning wise, instead if what appear to be stupidly non pragmatic restrictions as regards increasing the tax base for Port North and rebeautifying the now unsightly property?
Cookie Monster 24 July 14, 2012 at 04:04 AM
The movie theatre would stabilize the neighborhood. The only other movie theatre is a run down, small dump of a place on Main Street. The existing businesses would be boosted by the additional foot traffic and perhaps some new businesses would move into the vacant spaces. Port Washington is greatly in need of some decent establishments.
Greg Foster July 14, 2012 at 08:21 PM
Agree about Main St. Movie Theater. It has poor sound and video quality. The A/C makes a lot of noise (when working). Several of the theaters are the size of closets. In my opinion, when the new theater opens they will have to upgrade or close down
Bill Bodouva August 20, 2012 at 08:08 PM
The leasing of the movie theater would simply put the shopping center on life support, the vacant retail spaces must be leased for the center to become profitable. It's not just about the theater, it's about conscientiously selecting quality tenants and offering them fair market value leases to prevent turnover. Handled properly, it's a win/win; convenience to us as the residents and profits for the lessees and the landlord/investors.
jonathan winant August 20, 2012 at 09:35 PM
For all concerned; I have contacted some possible great tenants for one of the vacant stores in the strip malls on Shore Rd. Contacted were Staples, Office Max, Office Depot, Trader Joes. Maybe more residents should take the time to e-mail some of the businesses they feel we need in the area. Everyone has an opinion few do anything with their opinin I on the other hand have made things possible. Need to know more I will tell you about what I did when I lived in Elmont. I can give you a link to a very interesting story about myself.
jonathan winant August 20, 2012 at 09:47 PM
William Your opinion has some merit but if the movie theater does in fact open it is one less vacant store in the mall. It will bring business to at least Carvel. Hopefully it will encourage some growth in the rentals. The other problem is that store owners especially along main street need to take more care of the store fronts. Some have spent a lot of money to renovate and clean up and others do not even clean the awnings above thier door steeps. At least three businesses along Main Street have spent considerable amount of money to spruce things up. Good for them, it's better then leaving town. Anyone have some good ideas to keep or generate business in Port Washington.
choudhry javaid August 25, 2012 at 03:56 AM
am interested to buy from bank shopping center and i am able to manage this center plz contactect me at gnc 5167673402 thanks

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »