.

Tell Us: LIRR Fare Hike

How will the increase affect your Port Washington commute?

News broke this week that Long Island Rail Road fares will increase in March.

On average, most LIRR tickets will increase from 8.19 percent to 9.31 percent, depending on ticket type and zone, according to the MTA.

What do you think of the plans to raise LIRR prices? Have you gotten used to the price increases, or do you think this hike is too much? Will it affect how you commute?

Tell us in the comments.

Archie Bunker January 18, 2013 at 03:43 PM
Don't have much of a choice -- except maybe to park at the Douglaston Station There is always another train. The LI Transit Buses are not frequent enough for my schedule http://longislandtransitny.com/Long_Island_Transit/FARES.html
jonathan winant January 18, 2013 at 04:53 PM
You's is a ding bat! Edith! Yes AAAArchie. Come out here and listen to this! Maybe commuters should stop just accepting the rate hikes and start protesting. Get the petitons filled at every L.I.R.R. I am certain most will sign them as the rail road offers less for more money. Terrible storm related contingency plans. Constant distruptions of service, etc. Where are the commuter advocacy groups when you need them? This is starting to sound like the LIPA fiasco.
sadeto January 18, 2013 at 06:04 PM
Ridership is up, and has been going up for a while after decreasing intially during the first years of the recession. Ironically, one reason for the increase last year was restoration of the half-hour midday service on the Port Washington branch. The LIRR didn't realize that reducing that service would lead to such a decrease in overall ridership, despite having years of tracking data on hand. I don't think ridership is the main problem leading to fare increases, it's the dependence on subsidies that are declining in this economy. Most obviously, the real estate tax, but also Federal operating subsidies have been pared.
Archie Bunker January 18, 2013 at 07:00 PM
Great Idea Protest instead of going to work. How will I feed Gloria and the Meathead?
sadeto January 18, 2013 at 07:12 PM
Interesting editorial in today's Times, "Long Island's Future, Stuck in Transit". http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/18/opinion/long-islands-future-stuck-in-transit.html?hp&_r=0
Archie Bunker January 18, 2013 at 07:31 PM
Hey there Mr Nassau Taxpayer, The single track is east of Great Neck to PW
sadeto January 18, 2013 at 08:13 PM
And given the disruptions and delays caused by the short span of single track from Great Neck to Port, and the relatively small number of people served past Great Neck compared to the rest of the system, imagine the fate of those who take a main line train. Actually, don't imagine, try it some time. I did, very briefly before I moved to Port. We are spoiled.
Archie Bunker January 18, 2013 at 08:31 PM
Hey There Mr. Nassau Taxpayer, You are wrong again. When was the last time you have taken the LIRR?
Archie Bunker January 18, 2013 at 09:37 PM
This Morning There is a pocket at Great Neck for two trains, but only 1 track goes over the Manhasset Viaduct Bridge to Manhasset
Archie Bunker January 18, 2013 at 10:10 PM
It is you Mr. Nassau Taxpayer that needs a clue It is one way to / from Manhasset to Great Neck
sadeto January 18, 2013 at 10:24 PM
I think the 2 of you should walk the track together from Manhasset to Great Neck. About 7am Monday.
Toni D January 18, 2013 at 11:51 PM
the fare increase is not a big deal. we all need to chip in for all the workers who are disabled.
justanotherday January 19, 2013 at 01:31 AM
Nassau Taxpayer and Archie Bunker-- I agree with sadeto; walk the SINGLE TRACK from PW to Great Neck together. Just make sure to walk on the track when the train is coming.
Matt January 19, 2013 at 02:04 AM
You guys are really arguing over the # of tracks? I just lost a minute of my life that I will never get back.
jonathan winant January 19, 2013 at 11:05 AM
Toni: bad timing your comment is incorrect as can be. Read the news! 18 retired LIRR workers were found (so far) to have claimed disability to retire early at the expense of the Commuter. There was One (only one) doctor who falsely signed off that so many retirees were disabl;ed due to job related injuries. Who pays for this as the retrement fund surely suffers. This also hurts social security. fundsStarting to sound like LIPA which took massive rate increases and did not upgrade the system or improve maintanace to better insdure liners would stay up in storms.
jonathan winant January 19, 2013 at 11:11 AM
Look at this way At Great Neck there is two tracks so what it does not make matters better. If a west bound train is stuck you can not get another train to assist because there is only one west bound track. East bound same situation. Just east of Grt. Neck you have one single track if that track is down so is service to everything east of GRT. Neck. If there were another track added it might help alleveate some of the disruptions. The LIRR is trying to add some more tracks Just after you come over the VIA duct this would be to hold trains and for emergencies. We do not need a Jamaica style set up but more tracks might mean more reliable service especially in emergencies
jonathan winant January 19, 2013 at 11:18 AM
Before posting a comment read this story http://www.newsday.com/long-island/dr-peter-ajemian-ex-worker-plead-guilty-in-lirr-disability-scam-1.4469554
jonathan winant January 19, 2013 at 11:20 AM
Toni Read this story and please comment http://www.newsday.com/long-island/dr-peter-ajemian-ex-worker-plead-guilty-in-lirr-disability-scam-1.4469554
jonathan winant January 19, 2013 at 02:02 PM
This is not totally about one or two tracks it is more about those who post without getting facts correct. It's as if the New York Times keeps printing stories with inaccurate information which missleads readers. Archie Bunker unlike the real Archie Bunker might be more flexible and not the type of person who is always right even when proven (without a dobt) to be wrong. I think he accepts that not everyone is a so-called meat head. Other posters should learn something from this
Archie Bunker January 19, 2013 at 02:21 PM
The fares will rise in March and commuters will grumble. This is predictable Next election, we will send the same group of clowns back to the circus, who will again raise taxes, and back yet another fare increase. This again is predictable If you want real change, everyone in Washington and Albany needs to be fired
jonathan winant January 19, 2013 at 02:44 PM
Maybe hire Franklin Delanore Rooosevelt! He knew how to run the country. Then again Fiorrello Laguardia could read the comics to use on Cable networks.
jonathan winant January 19, 2013 at 02:45 PM
Archie Bunker maybe Edith's cousin Maude has some sound answers to the current problems?
sadeto January 19, 2013 at 03:02 PM
The only way to hold off fare increases is to increase subsidies. It' s just a fact that fares a fraction of operating costs. And how do we increase subsidies to keep fares down? Increasing taxes and/or tolls, since those are the sources of subsidies. So you are basically arguing for higher taxes, either local (e.g. the real estate transactions tax)', state or Federal. Cleaning up the LIRR disability scam will have virtually no impact on LIRR operating costs since the Railroad Retirement Board fund is national and funded by employee and employer payroll taxes across all US railroads. It also does not impact social security, unlike what Mr. Winant says.
Archie Bunker January 19, 2013 at 03:44 PM
You start by eliminating waste. You will be surprised how many "management positions" have been created under Ms. Williams
sadeto January 19, 2013 at 04:21 PM
The MAT has actually eliminated a lot of management positions since 2008, through early retirement buyouts and attrition. I have consulted with the MTA for more than a dozen years and the group of professional staff I worked with shrank quite a bit. The fact is, a few senior management positions is a drop in the bucket of the operating costs of the LIRR.
sadeto January 19, 2013 at 04:23 PM
Sorry, "MTA" not "MAT". Damn autospell.
sadeto January 20, 2013 at 05:44 PM
Your video supports Mr. Bunker. It mentions the "single track from Great Neck to Port Washington" several times. The 2nd set of tracks after GN leads to a pocket track for turning at GN. The 2nd set does not lead to Manhasset.
Aris January 24, 2013 at 04:08 PM
Our tickets are going up from $324 to about $350 per month if you have to take both the LIRR and the subway. They go up by about 10% every 2 years. That means in 4 years the commute will be up to about $410 give or take. That is unconscionable. Especially for the constant delays and crappy service. They like other agencies should cut out their overtime to save money. It isn't right that hard working commuters have to subsidize their ridiculous overtime and pension provisions.
jonathan winant January 24, 2013 at 04:57 PM
TELL IT TO THE MTA AND TO THE GOVERNOR WRITE WRITE WRITE. THE MORE THEY HEAR ABOUT THE HARDSHIPS THE MORE GOOD IT MIGHT DO.
Archie Bunker January 24, 2013 at 05:47 PM
This is a tax-hike disguised as a fare increase If anyone thinks Junior cares, he won the election with 62% of the vote and has his eye on Washington in 2016

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »